Skip to main content

Franchise brands

75 brands, with fees and investment read from each brand's own current Franchise Disclosure Document, and Chicago outcomes computed from the city licence history. A franchisor discloses national averages; the Chicago columns are what its outlets have actually done here.

Brands with FDD figures
75
Read against a cited page
Disclose unit economics
49 of 75
26 make no Item 19 representation at all
Growing in Chicago
13
More openings than closings, last 5 years
Retreating or gone
12
Net closing or gone · 24 more too small to call

Losing ground in Chicago

Openings minus closings, last 5 years

Subway+19 / −79119 open
Dunkin'+23 / −46112 open
Jimmy John's+16 / −2432 open
Quiznosnone left · last opened 2013
Pizza Hut+2 / −83 open
Caribou Coffeenone left · last opened 2011
Sbarro+1 / −44 open
Arby's+0 / −31 open

Gaining ground in Chicago

Openings minus closings, last 5 years

Taco Bell+16 / −439 open
Jersey Mike's+1015 open
Wingstop+10 / −133 open
Tropical Smoothie Cafe+8 / −28 open
Culver's+68 open
Rosati's Pizza+9 / −59 open
Panda Express+5 / −220 open
Auntie Anne's+6 / −39 open

Scaling in Chicago right now

33 brands · no FDD on file with us

Found by reading the licence history rather than any published list — brands with at least 3 locations, most opened in the last 6 years, still net-opening. A franchisor's own disclosure reports national outlet counts, so a brand quietly building a Chicago cluster does not show up there.

Pace compares the last 24 months of openings against the 24 before, because who is about to need space matters more than who has grown. Tiers is where the brand actually opens — Pure Green has only ever taken Tier 1, so a Tier 4 pad is not a pitch to them.

BrandWhat it isOpenPaceSinceTiersWhere
DEEP PURPLE / FONSHealth / Juice10steady2v220201, 2WEST LOOP, RIVER NORTH, LINCOLN PARK
LA MICHOACANA CHICAGO ICE CREAM SHOPBakery / Dessert10accelerating8v120162, 3BELMONT CRAGIN, ROGERS PARK, AVONDALE
Taco ProsMexican9slowing3v420211, 2, 3, 4OLD TOWN, WEST TOWN, CALUMET HEIGHTS
FIXIN' FRANKSHot Dog / Chicago Classic8paused0v220212, 3, 4AVONDALE, BRIGHTON PARK, BUCKTOWN
Pure GreenBreakfast / Diner8slowing2v420201LAKE VIEW, LINCOLN PARK, WICKER PARK
TACO MAYAMexican6slowing1v220181, 3LAKE VIEW, RIVER NORTH, LOOP
DULCE MAMI CAFE CHICAGOFrench / European6slowing1v320162, 3, 4GAGE PARK, EDGEWATER, NORTH CENTER
BREAKFAST HOUSEBreakfast / Diner5slowing1v220221, 2, 3LINCOLN PARK, UPTOWN, WRIGLEYVILLE
SINYAMediterranean / Greek4steady2v220212, 3ALBANY PARK, NORTH CENTER, HUMBOLDT PARK
DOS BROS FRESH MEXICAN GRILLMexican4paused0v420231LOOP, WEST TOWN, WRIGLEYVILLE

Descriptive, not a forecast — a brand can scale quickly and still fail. City of Chicago licences only. Suburban locations are not visible in any dataset we can reach, so a brand may be larger than shown.

Releasing space

Local chains closing faster than they open, with locations still trading — space likely to come back to market, and an operator under pressure.

WOW BAO−52 left
NICKY'S GRILL & YOGURT OASIS−54 left
PORKCHOP−42 left
ALOHA POKE−44 left
SEE THRU CHINESE KITCHEN−47 left
BIRRIERIA Y TAQUERIA ARANDAS−32 left
SARPINO'S PIZZERIA−32 left
TACO & BURRITO PALACE−33 left
TASTY HOUSE II−33 left
BEST SUBS−33 left

Names are grouped from licence records, so a generic-sounding row may be several unrelated businesses rather than one chain. Check a name in the search below before acting on it.

Check any brand's Chicago record

Searches the full licence history, not just the brands whose FDD we hold — so it works for emerging brands too. Useful for checking a claim that a brand is "already in Chicago" before acting on it.

Sort: 75 shown
BrandFormatInvestmentFeesDisclosed AUVPaybackChicago4-yr survivalTrajectory
SubwayFast Food$227K–$630K12.5%not disclosedn/a119/40174%Retreating
McDonald'sFast Food$701K–$2.81M9%$4.09M5.3 yr93/24877%Steady
Dunkin'Cafe-Bakery$142K–$1.83M10.9%$1.37M9.4 yr112/21491%Retreating
Jimmy John'sFast Food$206K–$734Kvaries$1.01Mn/a32/7193%Retreating
Taco BellFast Food$288K–$858K10%not disclosedn/a39/6582%Growing
QuiznosFast Food$214K–$649K9%not disclosedn/a0/6043%Exited Chicago
Baskin-RobbinsCafe-Bakery$307K–$627K10.9%$527K12.4 yr36/5793%Steady
PotbellyFast Casual$629K–$999K9%$1.34Mn/a45/56100%Steady
Pizza Hut◦Fast Foodnot readflat feenot disclosedn/a3/4977%Retreating
Panda Express◦Fast Food$515K–$3.28M—$1.72Mn/a20/3791%Growing
WingstopFast Food$310K–$1.05M11.5%$2.01M4.4 yr33/36100%Growing
Domino'sFast Food$231K–$744K9.5%$1.31Mn/a15/3470%Steady
JambaCafe-Bakery$481K–$941K9%$669K14.1 yr4/3194%Steady
Wendy's◦Fast Food$1.46M–$1.46M8%$1.99Mn/a5/2672%Steady
Jersey Mike'sFast Food$436K–$1.16M10.5%$1.37M7.6 yr15/2082%Growing
Einstein Bros. Bagels◦Cafe-Bakerynot read—$1.08Mn/a2/1883%Steady
Caribou CoffeeCafe-Bakery$281K–$1.51M8%not disclosedn/a0/1889%Exited Chicago
SbarroFast Food$212K–$931K7%$724K10.2 yr4/1667%Retreating
Auntie Anne'sCafe-Bakery$158K–$836K9%$792K8.2 yr9/1670%Growing
Papa John'sFast Food$281K–$890K11%$1.12M6.8 yr7/1688%Growing
CheckersFast Food$449K–$1.92Mvaries$1.14Mn/a1/1560%Steady
Rosati's PizzaFast Food$152K–$506K6%$1.28M3.2 yr9/1578%Growing
Cold Stone CreameryCafe-Bakery$256K–$681K9%$604K10.4 yr3/1369%Steady
Peet's CoffeeCafe-Bakery$1.03M–$1.70M6%not disclosedn/a4/1292%Steady
Tropical Smoothie CafeFast Casual$276K–$771K11%$978K7.1 yr8/10—Growing
QdobaFast Casual$548K–$1.29M9.5%$1.65M7.1 yr3/10—Growing
Arby'sFast Food$652K–$2.46Mvaries$1.27Mn/a1/1080%Retreating
Crumbl CookiesCafe-Bakery$849K–$1.47M10%$1.14M13.2 yr2/9—Growing
Culver'sFast Food$3.41M–$10.29M6.5%$4.14M19.9 yr8/8—Growing
Roti Modern MediterraneanFast Casual$510K–$869K9%$1.20Mn/a2/7—Retreating
Toppers Pizza◦Fast Food$421K–$733K—not disclosedn/a0/7—Exited Chicago
KilwinsCafe-Bakery$405K–$880K8%not disclosedn/a5/7—Growing
Sushi Avenue◦Fast Casual$19K–$158K—not disclosedn/a0/6—Exited Chicago
Red RobinCasual Dining$2.71M–$5.79Mvariesnot disclosedn/a0/5—Exited Chicago
SmashburgerFast Casual$1.24M–$2.26M7.75%not disclosedn/a3/5—Growing
Smoothie King◦Fast Casual$330K–$684K—$662Kn/a2/4—too few
Buffalo Wild WingsCasual Dining$2.46M–$4.90M9%$3.57M12.8 yr2/4—too few
IHOPCasual Dining$617K–$4.63M8%not disclosedn/a3/4—too few
Blaze PizzaFast Casual$757K–$1.30Mvaries$1.34Mn/a3/4—too few
California Pizza KitchenCasual Dining$715K–$5.38M6%not disclosedn/a0/4—too few
Dos Toros Taqueria◦Fast Casual$807K–$2.87M—not disclosedn/a0/4—too few
The Original Pancake HouseCasual Dining$483K–$1.67M2%not disclosedn/a3/4—too few
Buffalo Wild Wings GOFast Casual$376K–$920K9.25%$929K9.1 yr2/4—too few
PopeyesFast Food$505K–$3.92M10%$1.89M14.9 yr3/3—too few
Gong chaCafe-Bakery$207K–$648K7%$397K14.9 yr1/3—too few
Jeni's Splendid Ice CreamsCafe-Bakery$698K–$955K7%$983K10.6 yr3/3—too few
Jason's DeliFast Casual$1.71M–$2.52M4%not disclosedn/a1/3—too few
MOD Pizza◦Fast Casual$925K–$1.22M—not disclosedn/a0/3—too few
Dave's Hot ChickenFast Casual$617K–$4.12M10%not disclosedn/a2/2—too few
Teriyaki MadnessFast Casual$393K–$1.12M10%$1.11M8.8 yr1/2—too few
Playa BowlsFast Casual$282K–$1.06M8%$1.12M7.6 yr2/2—too few
Manchu WokFast Food$484K–$821K9%not disclosedn/a0/2—too few
Applebee'sCasual Dining$3.19M–$5.82M8.25%$2.95M18.8 yr1/2—too few
Nothing Bundt Cakes◦Cafe-Bakery$475K–$994K—$1.34Mn/a2/2—too few
Pizzeria UnoCasual Dining$207K–$598K7%$3.04Mn/a2/2—too few
Marco's PizzaFast Food$286K–$811K9.5%$878K8.2 yr0/1—too few
Haagen-Dazs ShoppeCafe-Bakery$213K–$592Kflat fee$721Kn/a0/1—too few
CinnabonCafe-Bakery$257K–$704K8.5%$665K9.5 yr0/1—too few
Huddle House◦Casual Diningnot read8.25%not disclosedn/a0/1—too few
Chicken Salad ChickFast Casual$777K–$999K7%$1.50M7.4 yrnone—
Firehouse Subs◦Fast Food$405K–$1.09M—$974Kn/anone—
Kona IceCafe-Bakery$115K–$229Kflat feenot disclosedn/anone—
Freddy's Frozen CustardFast Food$855K–$1.30M7.5%$1.76M7.6 yrnone—
Little CaesarsFast Food$377K–$1.77M13%not disclosedn/anone—
Penn Station East Coast Subs◦Fast Food$441K–$820K4%$1.10M6.9 yrnone—
Donatos Pizza◦Fast Food$547K–$1.06M—$1.13Mn/anone—
Bubbakoo's BurritosFast Casual$356K–$757K8%$1.01Mn/anone—
Wayback BurgersFast Casual$256K–$899K8%not disclosedn/anone—
Cousins Maine LobsterFast Casual$267K–$966K8%$1.30Mn/anone—
Pizza RanchCasual Dining$2.31M–$5.13M5.75%$1.18M39.0 yrnone—
Travelin' Tom's CoffeeCafe-Bakery$185K–$265Kflat feenot disclosedn/anone—
Eggs Up GrillCasual Dining$822K–$1.14M9%$1.37M9.1 yrnone—
Wetzel's PretzelsCafe-Bakery$189K–$725K8%$837K7.0 yrnone—
Church's Texas Chicken◦Fast Foodnot read—not disclosedn/anone—
BuonaFast Casual$3.90M–$5.84M5.5%not disclosedn/anone—

Watch one neighbourhood.

This page is the whole city. Pick the area you actually care about and we will email you when a new restaurant licence appears there, and stay quiet when none does. It covers openings only: a closure takes about three years to surface fully in the public record, and we will not send an alert we cannot stand behind.

Payback assumes a 2000 sqft build in a Tier 2 neighbourhood and a 9% net margin on sales after franchisor fees and rent. It is a screening comparison, not an underwrite — it carries no assumptions about your COGS, labour, debt service or ramp-up. It shows n/a where a brand's Item 7 and Item 19 describe different populations, because dividing one into the other would produce a confident-looking number with no meaning.

Trajectory is based on the last five years of openings and closings in Chicago, not on the share of all-time openings still open — that share is biased against older brands, whose early locations have had decades to close. A brand can be retreating here while growing nationally; its own FDD reports the national picture.

These are descriptive outcomes. A brand's Chicago record reflects where it chose to open and who operated those locations. It is not a forecast, and it is not evidence that the brand causes survival. Run an address through the revenue forecast for a location-level view.